Motor vehicle accidents are not uncommon in Connecticut, and children may suffer more severe injuries than adults in the event of a crash. Child safety seats help reduce the risk of serious injuries in the event of an accident if you install and use them correctly.
According to Safe Kids Connecticut, current Connecticut law requires you to place your child correctly in a car seat whenever he or she travels in a motor vehicle. You must use a rear-facing seat for an infant until he or she is at least 2 years old and over 30 pounds. The law requires a five-point harness for children younger than 5 years old and under 40 pounds. Once your child outgrows a car seat with a five-point harness, he or she should use a booster seat combined with a lap and shoulder seat belt until turning 9 years old and weighing over 60 pounds. The state also recommends that children ride in the back seat until they are over 12 years old. If you violate the state’s car seat laws, you may have to attend an educational course and pay a fine.
Statistics indicate that the risk of death from a car accident may go down by over 70% when a child is in a correctly installed car seat. Unfortunately, data also indicates that 80% of car seats in Connecticut are not in proper use. You may attend a Car Seat Clinic or go to a Fitting Station in the state to ensure you know how to install and use your child’s car seat properly.
This information on car seat safety is general and educational in nature; it should not be interpreted as legal advice.