Car accidents, slips and falls, medical malpractice – personal injuries can happen to anyone. If you are hurt as a result of another’s actions or inactions, you may able to hold the liable party accountable by filing a personal injury lawsuit.
But personal injury claims, like other legal matters, can be quite complex. Whether you are settling your personal injury claim in or out of court, it is important that you understand how the law works. This can help you protect your rights while steering clear of pitfalls that can be detrimental to your case. To start, consider the following.
Connecticut’s contributory negligence laws
Connecticut applies what is known as modified comparative negligence when apportioning fault. This means that you can only pursue damages if your contribution to the accident was less than 51 percent. Thus, if a court establishes that your contribution to the accident in question was greater than 51 percent, you may not get anything. This underpins the importance of gathering as much evidence as possible before filing your claim.
Connecticut’s statute of limitations period
Every state has a time restriction within which a plaintiff may file a lawsuit. This is known as the statute of limitations period. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years from the date of the accident. Rarely is this statute of limitations extended (tolled) so it is important that you do not let it run out.
Filing an effective claim
A personal injury can leave you with substantial medical bills among other damages. Learning more about Connecticut personal injury laws can help you build a strong case and pursue a favorable outcome for your case. Seeking legal guidance is a good place to start.